You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.
Michael "The Magic Man" Figliomeni was without a doubt one of WA's best ever Speedcar drivers. He was a 4 time Australian Champion, 7 time WA Champion, 3 time Laurie Matthews Memorial winner, a 6 time New Years Speedcar Derby winner, a winner of the Austraian Speedcar Grand Prix and recorded at least 40 all time feature wins at Claremont Speedway and the Kwinana Motorplex alone. All of this, as well as his on track and off track attitude to other competitors, crews, officials and fans made him a much loved and well respected competitor.

He died tragically on the 28th of October, 2006 at the Perth Motorplex during a race meeting. He competed in the first 2 heats of the night and won both. After Heat 2 Michael suffered a massive heart attack in the pits and passed away.

In 2007, the Figliomeni family, along with the Perth Motorplex, arranged a Tribute race for Michael that has been held annually ever since. It has attracted drivers from all over Australia and the world and is one of the most prestigious races on the National Speedcar Calendar.

Season Winner Runner-Up 3rd
2016/2017 Zac Daum (USA) Neville Lance Chris Telenta
2015/2016 Neville Lance Austin Brown (USA) Leeroay Redmond
2014/2015 Kaiden Manders Leeroy Redmond Dayne Kingshott
2013/2014 Alex Bright (USA) Casey Shuman (USA) Mark Brown (NSW)
2012/2013 Davey Ray (USA) Steve Buckwalter (USA) Scott Glazebrook
2011/2012 Davey Ray (USA) Scott Glazebrook Kevin Swindell (USA)
2010/2011 Davey Ray (USA) Rick Geneve Todd Wanless (Qld)
2009/2010 Davey Ray (USA) Nathan Smee (NSW) Scott Glazebrook
2008/2009 Dene McAllan Mark Brown (NSW) Scott Glazebrook
2007/2008 Mark Brown (NSW) Todd Waddell Dene McAllan