Back to News


Author: DTN Media
Saturday, December 08 2018
Perth Motorplex
Results / Post Race


For the second time in as many years, an American on his rookie visit to Australia has taken the honours in the John Day Speedcar Classic!

Jason Mcdougal, driving the Travis White Racing #38 machine was dominant in the feature, starting from the front row and holding off a number of challenges early to lead every circulation of the non-stop forty lap event that also saw him set a new track record at the Perth Motorplex.

He would defeat fellow American and defending Champion Tucker Klaasmeyer and interstate visitor Adam Clarke who came from the rear to finish third and net himself a pile of bonus cash.

All twenty cars that began the night would line up for the forty lap feature race, with dash winner Adam Clarke and Dayne Kingshott, originally slated to start from position three, electing to start from the rear for the extra bonus money.

As the race went green Bright and Mcdougal hit the line together, Mcdougal just getting the nose in front as both drivers ducked down to the low line.

Stuart Yates and Steven Henderson would retire very early, as Klaasmeyer made his way past Bright into second, but behind them Kingshott and Clarke were dicing their way through the field, into fifth and eighth respectively by the completion of lap four.

With five complete it was Mcdougal leading Klaasmeyer, Bright and local Dan Golding in fourth while Kingshott and Clarke were right behind him and looking for a way through.

On lap eight Clarke made his move past Kingshott for fifth, then on lap ten he made his way past Golding for fourth just as Alex Bright headed infield while running third.

Up front Mcdougal had broken away as Klaasmeyer momentarily got caught up in lapped traffic and lost momentum, then shortly after Dayne Kingshott too slowed and headed infield while fifth after fighting his way through from the rear of the field.

This meant now that Mcdougal led Klaasmeyer, Clarke and Golding, the top four having built up a significant gap on now fifth placed Lee Redmond and the rest of the chasing field.

Mcdougal then continued to work his way through traffic, as first Steven Doyle, then Andy Pearce pulled infield, leaving us with fourteen cars still running at the halfway point.

By this point Clarke has closed the gap on Klaasmeyer and was looking for a way through as the duo worked their way through heavy lapped traffic, eventually making their way through and the top four suddenly coming out of the traffic into clear air and spreading out on track through the middle of the race.

Fifth placed Lee Redmond retired on lap twenty nine, while Mcdougal continued to make his way through lapped traffic, lapping all the way up to now fifth placed Dene McAllan. As Klaasmeyer also went to lap McAllan, the two had a hairy moment but the race was able to continue.

In fact, the race ended up going the full forty lap distance without a stoppage, Mcdougal winning in a new track record time in what was a sensational race. His good friend and fellow countryman Tucker Klaasmeyer came home in second place, while Adam Clarke made the most of the option to go to the rear, bagging a cool $7,000 on top of his third placed prize money. Dan Golding was the highest placed local in fourth place, ending a great night for him after an earlier heat win.

Other heat wins were shared by Kingshott, Clarke and Mcdougal, with Clarke also besting the rest in a tip eight
knockout to claim pole position.

A huge congratulations to all drivers who competed through the night, a big thankyou to the event sponsors Access Hire Australia, AV Truck Services, Bennett Motorsports and Great Southern Fuels as well as all the crew at the Perth Motorplex and of course the whole Day family.

After such a big night honouring ‘the General’, the Speedcar division will be pleased now that they have a break for the festive season, with action resuming back at the Perth Motorplex on Boxing Day!

Release by DTN Media.
Pictures Courtesy Bruce Russell.

Official Results

Heat One, 8 laps: 1. 17 Dan Golding, 2. USA7 Tucker Klaasmeyer, 3. USA4 Alex Bright, 4. 9 Vaughan Manders, 5. 19 Steven Henderson, 6. 23 Glen Mears, 7. V15 Andy Pearce, 8. S57 Robert Heard, 9. 51 Beau Doyle. DNF: 26 Keenan Fleming (5). Total Time: 2.26.204. Winning Margin: 0.648. Fastest Lap: 17.762 Alex Bright.

Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. 24 Dayne Kingshott, 2. USA38 Jason Mcdougal, 3. Q29 Adam Clarke, 4. S83 Brett Ireland, 5. 10 Dave Perry, 6. 52 Lee Redmond, 7. 15 Rob Golding, 8. 75 Steve Doyle, 9. 47 Dene McAllan, 10. 32 Stuart Yates. Total Time: 2.17.582.Winning Margin: 0.953. Fastest Lap: 16.805 Dayne Kingshott.

Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. Q29 Adam Clarke, 2. 26 Keenan Fleming, 3. 24 Dayne Kingshott, 4. USA4 Alex Bright, 5. 17 Dan Golding, 6. 15 Rob Golding, 7. 19 Steven Henderson, 8. 51 Beau Doyle. DNF: 32 Stuart Yates (2). DNS: 75 Steve Doyle. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.741. Fastest Lap: 16.527 Dayne Kingshott.

Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. USA38 Jason Mcdougal, 2. 52 Lee Redmond, 3. 47 Dene McAllan, 4. USA7 Tucker Klaasmeyer, 5. S57 Robert Heard, 6. 10 Dave Perry, 7. 9 Vaughan Manders, 8. S83 Brett Ireland, 9. V15 Andy Pearce. DNF: 23 Glen Mears (4). Total Time: 2.12.072. Winning Margin: 5.042. Fastest Lap: 16.347 Jason Mcdougal.

Pole Shuffle 1, 2 laps: 1. 52 Lee Redmond, 2. 10 David Perry. Total Time: 34.348. Winning Margin: 2.028. Fastest Lap: 17.147 Lee Redmond.

Pole Shuffle 2, 2 laps: 1. USA4 Alex Bright, 2. 52 Lee Redmond. Total Time: 34.189. Winning Margin: 1.089. Fastest Lap: 16.912 Alex Bright.

Pole Shuffle 3, 2 laps: 1. USA4 Alex Bright, 2. USA7 Tucker Klaasmeyer. Total Time: 33.791. Winning Margin: 0.295. Fastest Lap: 16.741 Alex Bright.

Pole Shuffle 4, 2 laps: 1. USA4 Alex Bright, 2. 17 Dan Golding. Total Time: 33.592. Winning Margin: 0.202. Fastest Lap: 16.781 Dan Golding.

Pole Shuffle 5, 2 laps: 1. Q29 Adam Clarke, 2. USA4 Alex Bright. Total Time: 33.498. Winning Margin: 0.666. Fastest Lap: 16.546 Adam Clarke.

Pole Shuffle 6, 2 laps: 1. Q29 Adam Clarke, 2. 24 Dayne Kingshott. Total Time: 33.101. Winning Margin: 0.338. Fastest Lap: 16.439 Adam Clarke.

Pole Shuffle 7, 2 laps: 1. Q29 Adam Clarke, 2. USA38 Jason Mcdougal. Total Time: 33.311. Winning Margin: 0.246. Fastest Lap: 16.458 Adam Clarke.

Feature, 40 laps: 1. USA38 Jason Mcdougal, 2. USA7 Tucker Klaasmeyer, 3. Q29 Adam Clarke, 4. 17 Dan Golding, 5. 47 Dene McAllan (39), 6. S83 Brett Ireland (39), 7. 23 Glen Mears (39), 8. 10 Dave Perry (39), 9. 15 Rob Golding (38), 10. 9 Vaughan Manders (38), 11. S57 Robert Heard (38), 12. 51 Beau Doyle (37). DNF: 52 Lee Redmond (29), 26 Keenan Fleming (23), V15 Andy Pearce (19), 75 Steve Doyle (17), 24 Dayne Kingshott (12), USA4 Alex Bright (10), 32 Stuart Yates (1). DNS: 19 Steven Henderson. Total Time: 11.08.740 RECORD. Winning Margin: 3.220. Fastest Lap: 16.264 Jason Mcdougal.