Back to News


Author: DTN Media
Monday, January 07 2019
Perth Motorplex
Preview / Pre Race

The time honoured New Year Speedcar Derby will be back this weekend for the 47th time, and any number of drivers could find their name etched in the history books come feature time.

Dating back to the 1972/73 season at Claremont Speedway, where Tony Matta took the inaugural victory, there have been some Speedcar greats who have taken victory in the event, including six time winner Michael Figliomeni, five time winners Neville Lance and Geoff Pilgrim, two time winner Joe Little and single victors including Laurie Matthews, Geoff Stanton, Keith Mann and Graham Jones amongst many others.

Just three drivers in this weekend’s field have previously won the race, and all three are intent on grabbing another win this time out.

‘The Great Dayne’ won his first Derby in the 2011/12 season and then went on an almost unprecedented run of four victories in a row, equaling only ‘The Magic Man’ Mike Figliomeni’s run in the mid 1990’s. Kingshott will this weekend be back in his familiar #24 machine after issues at the last show which the team have worked hard to rectify since.

Glen Mears is a two time winner of the Derby, with his victories some eight years apart. The victory in last year’s race was particularly momentous for the likeable WASDA President, finally breaking through for that elusive win after a whole string of podium finishes up to that point in season 2017/18. Mears find himself in a similar position now, with three podiums to his name without a win this season…can he turn it into the same result as last year?

The only other winner of the event in the field is youngster Keenan Fleming. He grabbed his maiden Speedcar feature win in the New Year Speedcar Derby a couple of seasons ago and is now keen to grab another. Missing the last show due to a family holiday, ‘Crackers’ is chomping at the bit to get back in the saddle and have another crack.

Like Mears, Travis White has three podium finishes to his name in the 2018/19 season, but this includes one win, which he grabbed in spectacular fashion at the last show. The Travis White Racing team has been on fire in recent weeks, the car also claiming the John Day Speedcar Classic and White is determined to keep the #38 at the pointy end of the field.

Tom Payet steps back into the Speedcar ranks this weekend as he pilots the familiar Graham Jones Racing #4 entry after a significant time out of the Speedcar seat as he competes in other divisions. Payet is always right on the pace and with the world class #4 machinery, could be a real threat.

Dan Golding has been right on the money so far this season and is sure to break through for his first feature win sometime soon while Vaughan Manders has also found some pace and will be looking to grab his first win in the event.

Add in the always improving Gary Mann, son of a gun Steven Henderson, Margaret River local Stuart Yates, impressive rookie Beau Doyle and the exciting Rob Golding and it is going to be a hard fought affair!

The New Year Speedcar Derby always brings out the best in the drivers and this weekend should be no exception, so make sure you are at the Perth Motorplex on Saturday night the 12th of January, to cheer on your favourites for the first time in 2019!

Release by DTN Media.
Pic Courtesy Stu Mac Photography.

Official Nominations – 12
4 Tom Payet
9 Vaughan Manders
15 Rob Golding
17 Dan Golding
19 Steven Henderson
23 Glen Mears
24 Dayne Kingshott
26 Keenan Fleming
32 Stuart Yates
38 Travis White
51 Beau Doyle
97 Gary Mann

New Year Speedcar Derby History.
Season Winner
2018/2019 ???
2017/2018 Glen Mears
2016/2017 Keenan Fleming
2015/2016 Chris Griffiths
2014/2015 Dayne Kingshott
2013/2014 Dayne Kingshott
2012/2013 Dayne Kingshott
2011/2012 Dayne Kingshott
2010/2011 Keith Giles
2009/2010 Glen Mears
2008/2009 Dene McAllan
2007/2008 Neville Lance
2006/2007 Scott Glazebrook
2005/2006 Scott Glazebrook
2004/2005 Scott Glazebrook
2003/2004 Neville Lance
2002/2003 Neville Lance
2001/2002 Joe Little
2000/2001 Michael Figliomeni
1999/2000 Michael Figliomeni
1998/1999 Tony Tucknott
1997/1998 Wayne Cover
1996/1997 Joe Little
1995/1996 Michael Figliomeni
1994/1995 Michael Figliomeni
1993/1994 Michael Figliomeni
1992/1993 Michael Figliomeni
1991/1992 Neville Lance
1990/1991 Graham Jones
1989/1990 Tom Watson Jnr
1988/1989 Fergie Donaldson
1987/1988 Tom Watson Snr
1986/1987 Neville Lance
1985/1986 Ray Brookes
1984/1985 Perry Farcich
1983/1984 Laurie Matthews
1982/1983 Graham Jones
1981/1982 Geoff Pilgrim
1980/1981 Geoff Pilgrim
1979/1980 Keith Mann
1978/1979 Geoff Pilgrim
1977/1978 Bill Sutherland
1976/1977 Geoff Pilgrim/Tony De Rosa
1975/1976 Kevin Johnson
1974/1975 Geoff Pilgrim
1973/1974 Geoff Stanton
1972/1973 Tony Matta

Picture: Glen Mears won last year’s New Year Speedcar Derby…can he grab his third this weekend? Pic Courtesy Stu Mac Photography.