You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.
Author: DTN Media

Oh what a night!

Share this post

Last night at the amazing Beaumonde on the Point venue in East Perth, over 130 drivers, families, officials and Speedcar stalwarts crowded in to celebrate the season that was, and officially bring 2021/22 to a close!

The venue was immaculately presented, setting the mood for what was to be a fantastic night, hosted by MC Brad Fitzgerald, with plenty of awards on offer across the night.

After the WASDA Executive was acknowledged, the first offical awards were presented, with Perth Motorplex Speedway Manager Gavin Migro coming to the stage to acknowledge the Pool Shop Group Perth Motorplex Track Championship winners (first place Tom Payet, second place Kaiden Manders and third placed Beau Doyle) before presenting the Graham Jones Racing sponsored Division 2 Track Championship, Beau Doyle winning from Cory Smith and Tom Callaghan.

Doyle was back up the front quickly as he also claimed the RPM Race Products division two heat race points ahead of Callaghan and Smith.

Next would be the GT Brake and Clutch Busselton Feature Race points, just seven points separating the top three and two points between the top two. Tom Payet would get the win on 182 points ahead of Kaiden Manders on 180 and Dan Golding on 175. Payet would also claim the overall RPM Race Products heat race points over Keenan Fleming and Dan Golding.

Club legend John Fenton was next up on stage as he presented the John Fenton Top Dog Award to Tom Payet courtesy of his six feature race wins, with Payet also being presented with the John Day Racing Chequered Flag Award (21 flags) and the Dasco Supply Group Grand Slam Award, courtesy of winning three races from three starts at the Perth Motorplex on both the 4th of December and the 15th of January.

Keenan Fleming (Moora Speedway on the 11th of December) and Daniel Harding (Perth Motorplex on the 12th of February) also received Grand Slam Awards.

Tom Payet and Tom Callaghan were next up to collect the award no one actually want to win, the ‘Welcome to the Upside Down Club’ trophies, both drivers receiving their inductions on the same night in the same crash at the Motorplex on the 2nd of January!

Tom Callaghan would also receive the Pool Shop Group Ma Heath Award (first division two driver in the WA Title), and then the prestigious Bennett Motorsport Rookie of the Year Trophy.

WASDA Chief Steward Kai Stephens was next up to present the Chief Stewards award, which went to Beau Doyle. This would start off a stack of Awards for Doyle, including the Doc Parton Award (highest Division 2 driver in Presidents Cup), the ASteel Powder Coaters Ron Chell Award for the Best Presented Car and the division two Stan Kinloch Fairest and Best Cup.

Kaiden Manders would then be awarded the overall Stan Kinloch Fairest and Best Medal, while Dan Golding’s crewman Liam was back up the front to collect the Graham Jones Award for Most Improved on Golding’s behalf, with Golding unfortunately unable to attend the awards night leaving Liam to make plenty of speeches in his absence!

He would return to the stage immediately after as Golding was also voted the drivers driver, receiving the prestigious Mike Figliomeni Medal.

The Oval Track Racewear Best Dressed Pit Crew was presented to the Asteel Racing Team of Keenan Fleming, while third generation racer Patrick Watson was next up, receiving the Mears Electrical Encouragement Award.

The prestigious Pool Shop Group Presidents Cup was up next, the main season award for highest points across all races over the season. It was another close one this year, with Tom Payet triumphing, while Kaiden Manders would be second, just three points ahead of third placed Dan Golding.

More special presentations would round out the first round of awards, with Mel Fleming once again awarded the Bob Farmer Memorial trophy for most outstanding club person, then Graham Jones being awarded a special wooden plaque acknowledging the fifty years of active membership, including his commitment to racing as a driver, a car owner and of course as part of the executive (and also acknowledging the contribution by wife Gwen!).

The surprises would then continue, with WASDA President Glen Mears and WASDA Secretary Mel Fleming both being awarded Life Membership of WASDA, something that had them both in tears, such is the prestige of the honour.

After a dinner break, the proceedings would continue once again with the executive, officials, sponsors, media and finally the drivers being acknowledged. This included three ten year driving memberships being acknowledged: Dan Golding, Rob Golding and Travis White, something that WASDA has introduced to recognise the long standing racers.

When the drivers were acknowledged they were also presented with their Spike Chassis raffle tickets, collected across the season for every race in which they started. These tickets were put into a barrel to win an amazing prize courtesy of WASDA and Rick Musarra at RPM Race Products, a brand new Spike Chassis.

The excitement was palpable in the room, and it was a great response when Gary Mann was drawn out as the lucky winner!

This would bring the night and the season to an official close. Thankyou to all those who made a contribution to WASDA and our racing this season, no matter how big or small, and we can’t wait to be back again next year in what promises to be an even bigger season!

Release by DTN Media.

Pictures Courtesy Peter Roebuck.