You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.
Track: Albany Speedway
Release Type: Preview / Pre Race


Share this post

For the first time since December 2015, WASDA will return to race this weekend at the picturesque Albany Speedway Club!

Some eight years since the last visit, a good field of eleven nominations has been received for the Asphalt Recyclers Australia Southwest Speedcar Championship event, with not one of the drivers nominated having been in the field for that last event, or even the one the year before!

Interestingly, the man who won the last event in Albany in 2015 was the same man who won the Neville Lance twin 14’s feature races the weekend just gone, Kaiden Manders.

The year before it was former Australian champion Dayne Kingshott who claimed the win, showing that the tradition continues with two of the greatest of our division have cut their teeth at the Albany venue, just like generations of Speedcar legends before them have.

With Manders stepping aside this weekend so team owner Dan Golding can strap back in and with Kingshott now racing Sprintcars, we are now guaranteed a new victor this Saturday night.

So, who will it be?

Tom Payet comes in as a hot favourite, fresh off a podium in last weekend’s main event. With his car owner Rodney Bennett fielding the #7 machine for previous Albany events, not to mention Tom’s experience peddling other divisions around the Albany venue, he can be expected to perform well.

Stuart Yates, Vaughan Manders and Gary Mann have been around the sport for a fair while so will be familiar with what the Albany circuit offers, while youngster Beau Doyle in particular should have the most recent experience at the venue, albeit in a different division back when he was racing Junior Sedans!

Names like Aron Sharp, Jake Robinson, Cory Smith and the Watson boys Patrick and Joel are too new to the division and too young to have been racing even back the last time the Speedcars hit the Albany circuit, so this will be a learning experience for them all, made easier by some of the former Speedcar racers in their corners including Paul Robinson, Neville Lance and Tom Watson Snr!

As we know, anything can happen in Speedcar racing and we can’t wait to see what chapter is written this Saturday night at the Albany Speedway!

Release by DTN Media.


𝗢𝗳𝗳𝗶𝗰𝗶𝗮𝗹 𝗡𝗼𝗺𝗶𝗻𝗮𝘁𝗶𝗼𝗻𝘀 – 𝟭𝟭

7 Tom Payet | Bennett Motorsport

8 Jake Robinson | Robinson Motorsport

30 Aron Sharp | SHARP Motorsport

32 Stuart Yates

51 Beau Doyle | Beau Doyle Motorsport

57 Vaughan Manders

71 Dan Golding | DGR

75 Joel Watson | Watson Racing Team

76 Patrick Watson | Watson Racing Team

89 Cory Smith | Cory Smith Racing

97 Gary Mann | iRacing Mann

Proudly supported by Asphalt Recyclers Australia, Bennett Motorsport, GT Brake & Clutch Busselton, Dirt Track Nutters, PowdaWerx Custom Coatings, Perth Isotropic Superfinishing, Energy Hire WA, Sprintcar Parts Australia and Beau Doyle Motorsport.