You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.
Track: Perth Motorplex
Release Type: Preview / Pre Race


Share this post

Over the past two seasons, WASDA has been running the Esslinger Engineering Triple Crown and as announced as part of the calendar earlier this season, it is back for a third and final time!

The three shows provided a great boost to competitors and the calendar through the middle of the season, and this year will again include three nights at the Perth Motorplex: Boxing Night (26th December) as part of the Boxing Day Bonanza, the 2nd of January (doubling as the 52nd annual New Year Speedcar Derby) and the Grand Final on the 13th of January.

In even bigger news, we are pleased to reveal that Bill Buckley and the team at Esslinger Engineering have again thrown their support behind the series, not only returning as the naming rights sponsor, but also presenting the third and final night of the series.

For the past 28 years Esslinger Engineering has produced race and championship winning Speedcar engines. Over the past two decades, Esslinger engines have won more Speedcar and Midget races around the world than any other engine manufacturer.

These amazing Esslinger engines have powered teams to Australian Titles, WASDA Championships, USAC Championships, Chili Bowl and POWRi Championships, and numerous race wins right here in our own backyard at the Perth Motorplex.

Esslinger engines have powered drivers like Bryan Clauson, Jason Leffler, NASCAR Champion Kyle Larson, Hayden Williams, Michael Kendall, and even local standout Speedcar turned Sprintcar racer Dayne Kingshott.

In addition to Speedcar engines, Esslinger also provides engines and parts for Ford Ecoboost, Ford Duratec, Audi & Lamborghini 5.2L V10’s, as well as turbocharged engines for drag racing, road racing, and even high-powered street cars!

For more information, check out Esslinger’s website at

This year there has also been a massive prize increase, with each of the feature races across the series now paying $3000 to win, except for the finale which will increase again to $4000, while there are plenty of other incentives and sponsors to be announced in coming days, not to mention the $5000 prize pool for the overall points.

Points will again be awarded on feature races only, utilizing the same points system that the Perth Motorplex currently uses.

These three shows should be massive, and we can’t wait to do it for one final time!

Release by DTN Media.