You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.
Track: Perth Motorplex
Release Type: Preview / Pre Race


Share this post

This Tuesday night at the Perth Motorplex the Speedcars will race for the 52nd annual New Year Speedcar Derby and with a strong twenty car field nominated for the show, doubling as round two of the Esslinger Engineering Speedcar Triple Crown proudly presented by Coverall Sheet Metal, it is the best possible way to bring in the New Year!

Round one winner and current points leader Kaiden Manders is back in the field once again aboard the DGR #71, keen to go back-to-back as a feature winner once again and extend his lead as he hunts for overall series victory.

Tom Payet (Bennett Motorsport) was second to him in the last show and will certainly not be content to settle for that result, keen to even the score and keep his own series hopes alive.

American Alex Bright (Graham Jones Racing) will make his final appearance of the Triple Crown, determined to go back-to-back as the only visiting driver to win the New Year Speedcar Derby.

Winning this race last season, he was third in the opening round show and consequently is third overall in the standings, so he too will be looking to grab as many points as possible before heading home.

Keenan Fleming (ASTEEL Racing) banked his best result for a while when he came home fourth in the opening round thanks to The Pool Shop Group so he will be hoping to build on that and maybe even break into a podium position, while Nick Rowe rounds out the top five and he too will be hoping to claw his way up the ranks.

Glen Mears (Mears Racing), Joel Watson (Watson Racing Team), Cory Smith and Alfonso Guadagnino (Guadagnino Racing Team - GRT) all hold down positions in the top ten thus far and are hoping for improvements themselves, while others including Patrick Watson, Rob Golding (Golding Motorsport) and Stuart Yates amongst others sit just outside the top ten and will be desperate to break into the top of the standings.

Jake Robinson, Bart Curnow, Brodie Minchin (Minchin Motorsport), Tyson Bryden (Tyson Bryden Motorsports) and Gary Mann were all unable to start the opening round feature race with a variety of issues and will be keen to make up some ground this Tuesday night, Bryden in particular hungry to get back on track after being slated to start out of position five in the opening round feature race before heading infield during the formation laps.

Make sure you celebrate the New Year by heading down to the Perth Motorplex this Tuesday night and enjoy one huge night of Speedway action!

The 2023/24 Esslinger Engineering Triple Crown is proudly presented by Esslinger Engineering, The Pool Shop Group, Coverall Sheetmetal, Air Control Transport Refrigeration, Transwest WA, American Racing Tyres, RPM Race Products and Asteel Powdercoaters.

Release by DTN Media.

Pics Courtesy WASDA Media.

Official Nominations – 20

3 Nick Rowe

USA4 Alex Bright

7 Tom Payet

8 Jake Robinson

9 Lee Austen

11 Bart Curnow

15 Rob Golding

16 Alfonso Guadagnino

V19 Steven Henderson

21 Brodie Minchin

23 Glen Mears

26 Keenan Fleming

30 Aron Sharp

32 Stuart Yates

44 Tyson Bryden

71 Kaiden Manders

75 Joel Watson

76 Patrick Watson

89 Cory Smith

97 Gary Mann

New Year Speedcar Derby Honour Roll

2022/2023 Alex Bright (USA)

2021/2022 Kaiden Manders

2020/2021 Tom Payet

2019/2020 Tom Payet

2018/2019 Dayne Kingshott

2017/2018 Glen Mears

2016/2017 Keenan Fleming

2015/2016 Chris Griffiths

2014/2015 Dayne Kingshott

2013/2014 Dayne Kingshott

2012/2013 Dayne Kingshott

2011/2012 Dayne Kingshott

2010/2011 Keith Giles

2009/2010 Glen Mears

2008/2009 Dene McAllan

2007/2008 Neville Lance

2006/2007 Scott Glazebrook

2005/2006 Scott Glazebrook

2004/2005 Scott Glazebrook

2003/2004 Neville Lance

2002/2003 Neville Lance

2001/2002 Joe Little

2000/2001 Michael Figliomeni

1999/2000 Michael Figliomeni

1998/1999 Tony Tucknott

1997/1998 Wayne Cover

1996/1997 Joe Little

1995/1996 Michael Figliomeni

1994/1995 Michael Figliomeni

1993/1994 Michael Figliomeni

1992/1993 Michael Figliomeni

1991/1992 Neville Lance

1990/1991 Graham Jones

1989/1990 Tom Watson Jnr

1988/1989 Fergie Donaldson

1987/1988 Tom Watson Snr

1986/1987 Neville Lance

1985/1986 Ray Brookes

1984/1985 Perry Farcich

1983/1984 Laurie Matthews

1982/1983 Graham Jones

1981/1982 Geoff Pilgrim

1980/1981 Geoff Pilgrim

1979/1980 Keith Mann

1978/1979 Geoff Pilgrim

1977/1978 Bill Sutherland

1976/1977 Geoff Pilgrim/Tony De Rosa

1975/1976 Kevin Johnson

1974/1975 Geoff Pilgrim

1973/1974 Geoff Stanton

1972/1973 Tony Matta