Back to News

Awards Night Brings Season to a Close!

Author: DTN Media
Sunday, May 21 2017

The 2016/17 WASDA Season officially came to a close last night with the annual awards night to present all the winners with their hardware.

A good crowd of nearly 100 guests were present at the Boab Tavern for a great awards night which, despite some technical hitches, was hailed as a great success.

WASDA legend Mr Wayne ‘Chuck’ Redmond was the nights MC and did a great job keeping the crowd entertained and the night flowing. As is tradition the first awards handed out were the competitor plaques, recognising the efforts of all WASDA drivers throughout the season.

After the Let’s Talk Clothing Upside Down Club awards, presented to those who had their first rollover for the season in Keenan Fleming and Jai Dillon, Perth Motorplex Speedway Manager Gavin Migro took the microphone to acknowledge the top three in the Pool Shop Group Perth Motorplex Track Championship in Keenan Fleming, Alfonso Guadagnino and Travis White. Gavin then discussed the upcoming season and announced an exciting concept show to be held next season, with more details to be released later.

The Salon Express Innaloo Heat Race points were presented next, with Dayne Kingshott winning on 46 points, just ahead of Kaiden Manders on 44 points and Travis White on 43 points. The Coverall Sheetmetal Feature Race points followed this, with Keenan Fleming scoring the win on 79 points ahead of Chris Griffiths on 76 and Neville Lance on 71.

Another legend of our sport in ‘Fabulous’ Johnny Fenton was next invited to the front to help present the John Fenton Top Dog Award. This award is normally presented to the driver with the most feature wins, but considering four drivers in Chris Griffiths, Chris Telenta, Dayne Kingshott and Keenan Fleming all tied on wins, other factors were taken into consideration including podium finishes and heat wins, with Dayne Kingshott receiving the award

Kingshott stayed up the front to receive the John Day Chequered flag award for greeting the most chequered flags and was then awarded the QVEE Grand Slam Award (all wins on any given night) for his efforts at the Perth Motorplex on the 18th of March, while Kaiden Manders also won the award after his race wins on the 15th of October last year.

The Ron Chell Award for Best Presented Car was given to Chris Griffiths for his immaculate attention to detail on car #40, while the crew of Car #26, driven by Keenan Fleming, were awarded the DTN Best Presented Pit Crew. To round out the first round of trophy presentations the top three in the WA State Title were presented, Dayne Kingshott receiving his trophy along with Glen Mears, while Graham Jones took the third place trophy for Darren Jenkins who drove his car in the State Title race.

After a short break for dessert the awards began once again, starting with the Graham Jones Award for the Most Improved driver. Graham Jones came to the front once again and awarded Chris Telenta the trophy, while Todd Waddell was the next driver to come forward as he received the ASteel Powder Coaters Chief Stewards Award.

Shaun North was blown away to receive the Doc Parton Encouragement Award, while Chris Griffiths, Kaiden Manders and Keenan Fleming were next to be acknowledged as the top three drivers in the ASteel Powder Coasters Grand Prix Series.

The big awards would round out the night, with Neville Lance firstly awarded the Keith Mann 5 Star Award as the highest point scorer in the seasons Blue Ribbon Events. Keenan Fleming was almost speechless to receive the Stan Kinloch Fairest and Best Award, as voted by race fans throughout the season, while Fran Shugg received a standing ovation as she received the Bob Farmer Memorial Trophy for the Best Club Person for the fourth time in her long career with WASDA.

In WASDA, the highest honour a member can receive is Life Membership and although it doesn’t happen every year, last night we saw current Vice President Jody Crombie awarded the much sought after pin, leaving her speechless for the first time in her life! This was followed by last years Life Member inductee, Frank Figliomeni, coming to the stage to present the Mike Figliomeni Medal. This award, presented as the Driver’s Driver, is one that all competitors want to win, such is the prestige, with Chris Telenta getting the nod for this season after a great effort.

Rod Bennett was next to come forward as he presented the Bennett Motorsports Rookie of the Year Trophy. This was awarded to Keenan Fleming, who’s outstanding rookie season included two feature wins, including the New Year Speedcar Derby, and the Pool Shop Group Perth Motorplex Track Championship.

The final award of the night was the President’s Cup, with points awarded for every race across the season. Alfonso Guadagnino had a great season to come third on 105 points, just two points behind Dayne Kingshott on 107 points. The winner of the 2016/17 President’s Cup, for the third time in his career and some twenty six years after his last success was Neville Lance, on 117 points.

This bought to a close another good season from WASDA and the overall feeling at the closure of the night was excitement as we once again look forward to doing it all again, bigger and better in 2017/18!

A huge thankyou to all the sponsors, drivers, crews, families, officials and spectators for their support this season and we hope you all rejoin us again in just a few months time!

Release by DTN Media.
Pictures Courtesy Peter Roebuck.
Some of the 2016/17 WASDA Drivers
The State Title Top 3 (L-R) Glen Mears (2nd), Dayne Kingshott (1st), Graham Jones standing in for Darren Jenkins (3rd).
Presidents Cup Podium (L-R), 2nd Dayne Kingshott, 1st Neville Lance (or crew member Wayne Hilgert!), 3rd Alfonso Guadagnino.
Bennett Motorsports Rookie of the Year Keenan Fleming